Bahá’í Faith

The Bahá’í Faith is a monotheistic religion, which means it believes in one God. It was founded in the mid-19th century in Persia (modern-day Iran) by Bahá’u’lláh. Bahá’ís believe that Bahá’u’lláh is the most recent in a line of prophets, which includes figures like Abraham, Moses, Buddha, Jesus, and Muhammad.

Who Was Bahá’u’lláh?

Bahá’u’lláh, born Mirza Husayn-‘Ali Nuri, is the prophet-founder of the Bahá’í Faith. Bahá’ís believe that he is the latest messenger from God, bringing teachings for the modern age. His name means “The Glory of God” in Arabic. Bahá’u’lláh faced persecution and imprisonment for his teachings, which he continued to share throughout his life.

Core Beliefs of the Bahá’í Faith

  1. Oneness of God: Bahá’ís believe in a single, all-powerful, loving God, who has revealed himself through various messengers throughout history.
  2. Oneness of Religion: The Bahá’í Faith teaches that all major world religions come from the same divine source and are essentially different chapters of one religion from God.
  3. Oneness of Humanity: One of the central teachings of the Bahá’í Faith is the unity of all people, regardless of race, nationality, or religion. Bahá’ís strive for global peace, justice, and equality.
  4. Elimination of Prejudice: Bahá’u’lláh taught the importance of overcoming all forms of prejudice, whether based on race, nationality, or gender.
  5. Harmony of Science and Religion: The Bahá’í Faith sees no conflict between science and religion, believing that they are complementary paths to truth.
  6. Independent Investigation of Truth: Bahá’ís are encouraged to seek truth independently, without relying solely on tradition or inherited beliefs.
  7. Universal Education: The Bahá’í Faith emphasizes the importance of education for all people.
  8. Equality of Men and Women: Gender equality is a fundamental principle in the Bahá’í Faith.

Bahá’í Practices

  1. Prayer and Meditation: Bahá’ís engage in daily prayer and meditation to grow closer to God.
  2. Nineteen-Day Feast: Every 19 days, Bahá’ís gather for prayer, consultation, and socializing. This gathering is central to community life in the Bahá’í Faith.
  3. Annual Fasting: Bahá’ís fast from sunrise to sunset for 19 days each year, as a time for spiritual rejuvenation.

Holy Days and Festivals

  • Naw-Rúz: The Bahá’í New Year, celebrated on the spring equinox.
  • Ridván: A 12-day festival in April, commemorating Bahá’u’lláh’s announcement of his mission.

The Bahá’í Faith brings a message of unity, peace, and hope for the future. It teaches the importance of understanding between people of all nations and religions.